Anzac Day Special

Hello everyone 🙂

A couple of days ago was Anzac day and I thought it fitting that I should have a talk about this wonderful day that our band participates in.

Our band in the Anzac Day March

I’ll never forget my second dawn service though…..
We got up at about 4:30 A.M and we were off by 5:00 down to Brighton to do the dawn service there. We got there tuned up and then proceeded to march down the street with all the veterans.

When we arrived at the service I thought we would only have to stand there for about fifteen minutes. An hour and a half later my whole body was complaining. Yes even my stomach. When we began to march back I felt so sick that I thought I was going to….. Well you get the picture. It wasn’t very pretty. Then we’d be off to march in a parade which moves down the middle of the city. Followed by a 4 – hour job at the union hotel. Woot!!!!

The Veterans

You may be wondering why I even bothered to do all those things. But the answer is simple. I am only doing what millions of other people are doing on this day. Saying thank you to the men and women who gave their time and even their lives for wars which kept our country safe.

That is why I do it. I’ve seen what these people have gone through. I’ve read diaries, history books and biographies. Watched documentries and movies and they are all saying the same thing. Wars are HELL on earth. Those people lived and died so that we could be free. I have often wondered what would have happened if Hitler had taken over, or if the Japanese had invaded our land. Persecution, bloodshed and toil would have been the profit, but thanks to these men and women. War is no more and we live in freedom. Thankyou ANZACS for doing that for me.

Lest I forget……
“They shall not grow old, as we that are left grow old:
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun, and in the morning
We will remember them.
Lest we forget.”

Cheers!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

